Missouri State University
Springfield - 91.1
Branson - 90.5
West Plains - 90.3
Mountain Grove - 88.7
Joplin - 98.9
Neosho - 103.7
Share |

Federal Assistance Approved for Flood-Damaged MO Counties

Local governments and nonprofit agencies in the counties included in the declaration may seek assistance for response and recovery expenses associated with the severe weather and flooding.


Counties included in the federal disaster declaration are:  Barry, Camden, Cedar, Dade, Dallas, Laclede, Maries, McDonald, Miller, Osage, Ozark, Phelps, Pulaski, Shannon, Taney, Texas, Webster and Wright.


Governor Jay Nixon says the declaration will help those communities recover and rebuild.  He says the flooding caused an estimated $18 million in emergency response costs and damage to roads, low water crossings and infrastructure.


According to a news release from Governor Nixon's office, the governor's August 27th request to the federal government seeking individual assistance in several Missouri counties affected by flooding is under review.