Missouri State University
Springfield - 91.1
Branson - 90.5
West Plains - 90.3
Mountain Grove - 88.7
Joplin - 98.9
Neosho - 103.7
Share |

It look's like you don't have Adobe Flash Player installed. Get it now.

FEMA Assistance Available in Greene County for May Storms

On the morning of May 8th, 2009, over a dozen tornados ripped through the Ozarks region causing substantial damage to many homes and businesses. Severe thunderstorms continued until May 16th, bringing flooding and further damage. On Tuesday, the federal government announced some Greene County residents may qualify for federal disaster assistance as a result of these storms. KSMU’s Matt Evans has more.

Many Greene County residents were left shocked and in debt from damages after the severe storms moved through the Ozarks. The Federal Emergency Management Agency or FEMA has informed the Springfield City Council that Greene County is one of 24 counties in Missouri to qualify for individual and public assistance.

If residents experienced any damage from the storms, they may be eligible for federal relief.

Robert Hockensmith is an external affairs officer with FEMA in Missouri.

“There are a number of different programs available. The key is to register and once you have registered then the person you speak with will be able to give you a better idea of the type of programs you may become eligible for.”

Hockensmith says FEMA offers many different programs, ranging from disaster grief counseling programs to grants for homeowners.

There are three ways to determine whether a person is eligible for FEMA aid:

1. Residents may call the FEMA Hotline at 1-800-621-FEMA (3362).2. They can go to www.disasterassistance.gov and register online.3. Or, they can visit any Disaster Recovery Center in the state.

FEMA usually takes six to eight weeks to process applications.

For KSMU News, I’m Matt Evans.

ANCHOR TAG: FEMA has a Disaster Recovery Center in Joplin.