It look's like you don't have Adobe Flash Player installed. Get it now.
A new booster seat law that adds requirements on how long kids should ride in safety seats goes into effect today. KSMU's Christy Hendricks has the story.
Starting today a new booster seat law in Missouri puts additional restrictions on how children should be buckled up.
The old law required children to be in a child safety seat through age three.
The new law requires children under four years old or less than 40 pounds to be strapped in a child safety seat.
It also requires children who weigh between 40 and 80 pounds or are less than 4 feet 9 inches tall to ride in a booster seat.
Children over 80 pounds or taller than 4 feet 9 inches can wear a regular safety belt.
Sergeant Dan Bracker is a spokesman for the Missouri State Highway Patrol Troop D.
He says even though the law goes into effect today, the highway patrol will not issue tickets until December 1st.
Dan Bracker says young children should ride in the backseat of a vehicle.
He also says parents should pay attention to safety seat recalls and buy new rather than used safety seats.
Bracker says many parents do not know how to properly use car seats.
Daphne Greenlee is director of community education at the Safety Council of the Ozarks and the local Safe Kids Springfield coordinator.
She says the new law increases safety for kids.
Safe Kids Springfield will hold a free car seat check up event September 9th at the Battlefield Mall from 10:00 in the morning to 2:00 p.m.
For more information on the new booster seat law in Missouri visit www.boosterseat.gov or call 800-800-2356.