Making Democracy Work

Monday, 9:30 a.m.

The League of Women Voters of Southwest Missouri brings you this weekly program, which covers a variety of topics related to the Ozarks and democracy.

This week on Making Democracy Work, host Lois Zerrer speaks with Julie Jordan. Ms. Jordan is the Marketing and Development Director for Senior Age of Southwest Missouri (Senior Age). Listen in as they discuss the history of Area Agencies on Aging and how times and needs have changed since the late 1970's.

Senior Age provides community centers as a place for senior citizens to gather and to also educate themselves. Senior Age also provides in-home visits with hot meals.

This week on Making Democracy Work host Debbie Good speaks with Erick Roberts. Mr. Roberts is the Superintendent of Solid Waste for the City of Springfield.

Listen in as they discuss the recent surveys regarding solid waste removal, who was involved, and what kinds of results are expected from the surveys. Mr. Roberts reminds the listeners that all decisions regarding the outcome of the third party surveys will be handled by the City Council.

This week on Making Democracy Work host Ilga Vise speaks with Republican State Senator Bob Dixon. Senator Dixon represents the 30th district which covers Springfield, MO and parts of Greene County.

Listen in as Ilga and Senator Dixon discuss how a bill becomes law, Senator Dixon's work in various committees, and the best way to reach you local representative. 

If you'd like to contact Senator Dixon you can visit his website.

Lincoln Hough
Missouri House of Representatives

This week on Making Democracy Work host Crystal Brigman Mahaney speaks with Greene County Commissioner Lincoln Hough. Listen in as they discuss Hough’s time as a state representative and how it differs from working at the county level.

Also briefly discussed is the county’s 2017 budget proposal that will close for public comment on January 30th 2017.  

Missouri Is Making It Simpler To Learn About And Report Child Abuse

Jan 17, 2017

This week on Making Democracy Work host Crystal Brigman Mahaney speaks with Micki Lane.