Jay Nixon


Small, nonfarm businesses in 112 Missouri counties are now eligible to apply for low interest federal disaster loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA). These loans are designed to offset economic losses from heavy rainfall and flooding that began March 1, 2015.  On August 7, President Obama approved Gov. Nixon’s request for a major disaster declaration, which allowed local governments and eligible nonprofit agencies to seek assistance for response and recovery expenses associated with the severe weather and flooding.

Scott Harvey / KSMU

With better facilities comes an improved learning experience, according to Missouri State University President Clif Smart.

Smart, along with Gov. Jay Nixon and State Sen. Mike Parson of Bolivar, took time Monday to address the importance of the Building Affordability. The initiative was passed earlier this year by the Missouri Legislature, creating a bonding package that will fund nearly 500 projects, including several at college and university campuses.

Emily McTavish / KSMU

Low-interest loans and other federal assistance is available for farmers in 105 Missouri counties impacted this summer by severe storms.

The natural disaster area designation was issued Tuesday by the U.S. Department of Agriculture.

“The scope of this declaration by USDA demonstrates how the severe weather most of Missouri experienced earlier this spring and summer hit farmers especially hard,” Gov. Nixon said in a news release.

Kathryn Eutsler / KSMU

Missouri governor Jay Nixon is mandating an improvement in police officer training and standards throughout the state.

“They are called upon to handle crimes and crises fueled by severe mental illness, domestic violence, drug addiction, and child abuse. They must confront the herring phenomenon of active shooters who indiscriminately harm others,” Nixon says.

Billy Long
Rep. Billy Long

Missouri’s Congressional Delegation says it supports Gov. Jay Nixon’s request for a federal emergency disaster declaration in 70 of the state’s counties.