Local Government

News covering policy and issues related to city and county governments in the Ozarks.


Eye on the Community
3:39 pm
Tue April 21, 2015

Springfield Welcomes Newest Council Member, Fills Zone 1 Seat

Credit KSMU archives

Phyllis Ferguson has been chosen to serve on the Zone 1 seat for Springfield City Council. The decision came following a special council meeting Tuesday in which Ferguson, along with four other applicants, were interviewed.

Ferguson, a Springfield resident for 38 years, is the CEO and treasurer for Mexican Villa Food Products, Inc. She had previously worked for Mercy and Heer’s department store.

Read more
Eye on the Community
12:02 pm
Mon April 20, 2015

Zone 1 Council Interviews This Week in Springfield

Credit KSMU Archives

Springfield will soon welcome its newest member to city council, as officials this week will interview the five applicants for its Zone 1 seat.

The zone, located in the northwest quadrant of the city, was recently vacated by Jeff Seifried after he moved to Branson.  

Brent Esch, Joseph Hoffman, Eric Wood, Phyllis Ferguson, and Brittany Hopp will all be interviewed Tuesday as part of the council’s weekly lunch meeting.

Read more
Eye on the Community
3:15 pm
Tue April 14, 2015

Pit Bulls Can Now be Rescued from Springfield Animal Shelter

Pit Bull
Credit mccoy77 / Flickr

Pit bulls and pit bull mixes can now be rescued from the Springfield Animal Shelter and adopted out.  Springfield City Council approved a resolution allowing the rescues for a six-month trial period at its meeting Monday night.

Rescue groups that take pit bulls out of the shelter must carry a  $1 million liability insurance policy.

Kevin Gipson, director of the Springfield-Greene County Health Department, said the dogs will be evaluated by animal shelters and rescue groups.

Read more
Eye on the Community
9:49 am
Mon April 13, 2015

Springfield's Newest Council Members To Be Sworn In

Credit KSMU Archives

The city of Springfield will honor its four outgoing council members during a reception this afternoon.

The public is invited to the event, which will include Doug Burlison, Mike Carroll, Cindy Rushefsky and Jerry Compton.

Compton was the only incumbent to seek re-election last Tuesday, but was unseated by Mike Schilling. Burilson, Carroll and Rushefsky did not seek another term, and will be succeeded by Justin Burnett, Kristi Fulnecky, and Ken McClure.

Read more